Spare a Little Change

index

I often hear people talk about how they have experienced a lot of change when big life events happen.  I have experienced a lot of changes in the past year and a half AND I have chosen to change in that process.

To put it succinctly, My dad and brother passed away, I lost my job in wine industry, moved from CA to NY, and I am putting my career on hold to go back to school and become a C.P.A.  Yes!  I want to be a C.P.A.  I feel that particular industry needs a little revamping of happiness, excitement, and fun.  I know no one better than myself, The Purveyor of Happiness.

As I was watching Dr. Who (I AM A WHOVIAN) today, in the episode where he declares his past self NOT the Dr., I was thinking about change and how we all experience it and can either become better from it, or worse.  You cannot stay the same in the midst of change.  You cannot be neutral.  You either progress or regress.

Like many things philosophical, I go back to thinking of wine.  Imagine the last great wine you had.  That one whose smells and flavors linger in your memory.  The one you crave to experience again, but is gone.  That wine had to go through HELL to become great and add to your life.

The process of growth, harvest, fermentation, secondary fermentation, and then the process of waiting in the barrel and then the bottle.  As we experience changes that uproot us, crush us, make us uncomfortable, we have the choice to become better and be more.  We can choose to become a person of such character and quality we can infuse the world around us with joy and happiness.

It takes time and it takes choice.  Even with the best choices and outcomes, change is still difficult and never ending.  I once had a Zinfandel that, upon release, was terrible.  It was the only wine I have ever worked with that I though I could not sell.  There was always at least a few selling points on each wine I have ever sold, except for this one.  it was, in a word, terrible.

Sales were non-existent in the Tasting Room, Back Office, and Wine Club Members did not like it.  None of the staff would even take an open bottle home.  That is the mark of a truly terrible wine.  I had no idea how I would sell this wine.

Fast forward six months and the wine sold itself.  He became one of the most interesting, complex, and delicious Zinfandels I have ever had.  The wine went from being astringent, tight, bitter, and unpalatable to a very sophisticated and delectable treat.

Let’s remember to be kind to ourselves in the midst of change and even more so to others.  Let’s ALWAYS remember as well that, unlike grapes, we always have the choice to become great!

Leave a comment