Being Unlost in Paris/ Google Maps Got Nothing On Me!/ Can We PLEASE Kill Open Container Laws? I did say please!

IMG_1089

One evening, while in Paris, I decided to venture forth on my own.  I had been there over a week and was always with my friends who lived there.  They are dear friends and I wanted to spend all the time I could with them while I was there.  That night, though, I needed to get out and explore!  I used my trusty offline Google Maps I had downloaded earlier and put the name of the gay club I wanted go check out.  I arrived and had a delicious Aperol Spritz and then danced my face off!

I ended up befriending a group of 15-20 guys from all over the world who were in Paris for Pride which was two days away.  (I didn’t do my research before I booked my flight and didn’t realize I was leaving the day Pride started.  I made a poor life choice, I am very sorry, and I learned my lesson.)  We danced and talked and had drinks and were having a fantastic time!

The group wanted to head to another venue and they invited me to go along.  Off I went on an unknown adventure!  What an adventure it was!  After I left the venue I decided to challenge myself and see if I could get back to my friends’ apartment without using Google Maps.  I headed in, what I thought was the right direction and….IT WAS!

The buildings and landmarks began to look more and more familiar to me.  My friends live in the Belleville neighborhood of Paris which is up on a hill.  It is a slow and steady incline and is kind of brutal.  I knew that I was going to need some nourishment to make it the hill.  After hours of dancing my thighs were already chastising me.  I stopped and got a gyro and then decided I needed an adult beverage.  Climbing this hill was a daunting task and I needed some liquid courage.

IMG_1085

I stopped at a little shop, grabbed a beer, and the shopkeeper opened it for me.  I was merrily on my trekking up the hill.  My gyro in one hand and beer in the other.  I started thinking about all the great picnics my friends and I had in the various parks in Paris where we enjoyed a bottle of wine.  I also thought about the fact that there seemed to be very few people who were drunk even at the time the bars were closing.

I wish we could have a responsible enough relationship with alcohol in the U.S.A. that there would be no need for open container laws.

May your adventures lead you to a safe and happy place.

Cheers,

Mykha’el

Leave a comment